收起左侧

2015.09.23 托里-阿莫斯的神奇音乐

[复制链接]
发表于 2022-4-26 07:12:21 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式

马上注册 与译者交流

您需要 登录 才可以下载或查看,没有帐号?立即注册

x
The magical music of Tori Amos
The designer Hussein Chalayan credits Tori Amos with helping him understand what it’s like to be a woman

Sep 23rd 2015

Give
Hussein Chalayan, 45, was born in Cyprus, but moved to Britain in 1978; he has twice received the award for the British Designer of the Year. Tori Amos, 52, is an American singer-songwriter, now living in Britain, who has received eight Grammy nominations

After my parents divorced, I was brought up by women. My mother, my mother’s mother, my mother’s sister and my mother’s sister’s daughter – I was always around them. One of the reasons I’m a designer is because I always appreciated women more than men. I like to create a confident, empowering image of a woman and I think that what I listen to, what I see, strengthens that journey for me.

So it’s not Tori’s biography or life that interests me – though I know she had a quite religious upbringing in America, and now lives in Cornwall. It’s not that she’s worn my stuff a lot either, though that’s nice. It’s her work. She’s a musician’s musician: the way she combines words and sounds is like poetry, in that listening to it is a physical, emotional and oddly spiritual experience.

I discovered her in the late 1980s. Other people were listening to Madonna, but I was listening to the post-punks, followed by Kate Bush and Siouxsie and the Banshees. I felt that Tori was very much from the same school of thought as Kate Bush, but with her own very distinct landscape.